RCT Discussion / Coming soon: train rides for your every need

• spacek531%s's Photo
    Roller coasters and other rides are an incidental part of why I make rides for RCT2. The real reason is so that I can bloat the transport rides tab with as many useful rides as possible. I am still getting into the swing of it, though, so progress on that front is not as fast as it could be.

Regardless, there was, or perhaps continues to be, a period where realism is really important. And what's more important than making sure your park has the proper train? After a lot of research, I have compiled a list of the 5 most common train types in American theme parks:

36"  4-4-0  live-steam
    36"  2-4-0  diesel-hydraulic
    36"  4-4-0  diesel-hydraulic
    24"  4-2-4  diesel-hydraulic
    24"  4-4-0  live-steam
    15"  4-4-0  live-steam

Here's a breakdown of these five types in the highest-profile operations:

36" 4-4-0 live-steam:
    Busch Gardens Tampa, World of Fun, King's Island, Six Flags St. Louis, Six Flags over Georgia*, King's Dominion

CmAonbs.png

36" 2-4-0 diesel-hydraulic:
    Six Flags Fiesta Texas, Six Flags Great America, Cedar Point**, Six Flags over Texas

qUjPIE0.png

36" 4-4-0 diesel-hydraulic:
    Canada's Wonderland, Valleyfair

IOVr1GS.png

24" 4-2-4 diesel-hydraulic:
    Michigan's Adventure, Kemah Boardwalk, Holiday World, Oaks Park, many many zoos, some public parks

vkFhBJp.png

24" 4-4-0 live-steam:
    Hersheypark, Six Flags Great Adventure (defunct)

[imagine the picture below but slightly larger]

15" 4-4-0 live-steam:
    Knotts, Canobie Lake, Knoebels, some public parks

rlxu2q0.png

*Converted to diesel-hydraulic between 1990 and 2002
    **Actually live steam
    Actually 36" 2-4-2 live-steam locomotives, which are closest to 36" 2-4-0 locomotives