General Chat / Long Time, No See!

• ACEfanatic02%s's Photo

Between falling down the rabbit hole on Parkitect and the RCT NoClip documentary I've been feeling real friggin' nostalgic about good ol' NE, so I wanted to check back in.  Apparently it's been, like, over a decade since I was here regularly?

So, yeah, hi!  I strongly suspect I wasn't notable enough to be remembered (I never actually finished a park), but I see a bunch of familiar faces posting so maybe someone does.

Life events that may be interesting to folks:  I'm now a graphics programmer making video games professionally (@ Velan Studios -- worked on Mario Kart Live + Knockout City.)

Also, I'm a girl now?  Weird.  (I can't have been the only egg bouncing around here in the 00's, right? Right?)

I dunno if I'm back-to-making-parks back -- I feel a bit out of my depth with the pure magic being pulled off in OpenRCT2 these days, and work keeps me quite busy -- but I'll probably be hanging around a bit more, might show some of my Parkitect stuff when it gets further along.

Thanks for indulging my nostalgia!

- Ashley

(Wow, speaking of nostalgia, a real live webforum in 2021!  This rules.)

• Liampie%s's Photo

Hey! I remember you. Never building, but always around. Good to see you. And congratulations on your transformation, you're not the only one to have taken that step!

I wouldn't be too intimidated by the RCT you're seeing at the moment, there are still many ways to play the game. Of the last five spotlights, one was LL, and one didn't use custom scenery and is perhaps the closest thing to Rivers of Babylon we've had since Rivers of Babylon. A third didn't use custom scenery either, but I'll concede that it used OpenRCT-enabled innovative techniques - including multiplayer I believe.

If you feel like contributing again, I totally encourage you to just build in the way you can build. And perhaps you can even lend a hand in the OpenRCT project?