General Chat / www.erictecture.com

• AustinPowers%s's Photo
    hey guys,

been a while since I was last around here. so I thought I'd drop in to say hey. as some of the older guys might remember, I studied for architecture at the university of cincinnati and graduated in 08. anyway, I recently got myself a domain and built up my website from scratch to serve as my online portfolio and to give me the flexibility of having my own web space. I'm also going to be doing some freelance work on the side for graphics.

but anyway, the main reason of the post is just to get some input on the site since I know a lot of people around here are design oriented.
    so, check it out and give me some feedback, the site is around 90-95% done.
    http://www.erictecture.com/

Eric
  • RRP%s's Photo
    I dont like the page backgrounds that you have.They remind me a of a youth project ran by a council. Id remove some of your work aswell,the pieces that arent very good in particular (i.e the photoshop trickery bits). They make you look bad in comparison to your other work
  • 5dave%s's Photo
    I agree about the backgrounds.
    Also the photos in the photography section aren't linked with the lightbox thingy.
    I don't like how your HOME button stands out and the blog buttons look somehow sloppy (those with 2 lines).

"MFG"
  • AustinPowers%s's Photo
    thanks for the feedback guys.

I have been thinking of trimming down the number of images I use for each page. That way I could take out the unnecessary and not so good images. As for the backgrounds...I might simplify them a bit, though personally, I like the concept.

5dave, I don't know why the photography page isnt working properly for you, I've checked it on mac/pc with firefox, ie, and opera and it works fine. what are you using?

A quick update, I'm planning on merging the home and about pages into just the home page.
  • RRP%s's Photo
    Other things you need to do: