Contests / NEDC Score Projections

• CoasterCreator9%s's Photo

Steve asked what the projection for the number 1 score for NEDC5 is, and I got carried away.

Obviously, we're only three submissions in - but that's enough to get some rudimentary projections going. (Hey, I'm a medical student - I need a hobby that isn't as variable as the human body.) This is by no means meant to be accurate. It was just fun.

So we've got three in; releases 1-3 scoring 56.5, 63.5, and 65.5% respectively. The biggest limit to this process is that our panelists aren't going to follow our equations perfectly. That's alright, predicting the future is never an exact science.

WARNING: STATISTICS TERMS AHEAD!

Since we're working with an incomplete data set, we have to start simply and see what kind of equation we're looking at. Ideally, the more starting data the better, but here we are.

Attached File  nedc stats.PNG (5.59KB)
    downloads: 3

R-Squared Values (We want as close to 1 as possible for the best fit)

Linear - 0.907; Not great, not horrible. But the scores aren't gonna be linear, I can tell you that.

Exponential - 0.894; Not good.

Polynomial - 1; That's amazing, but if we reach release #10 we get a negative value, so we can't use this.

Logarithmic - 0.975; Really good. I initially used this because it's what I thought made the most sense.

Power Scale - 0.97; Also really good. I used this as a comparison.

Moving Average - Not enough data, don't even try.

So our best bet is going to be using a logarithmic or power scale fit to our first few submissions. Here's the equations for the statistics nerds;

Log: y=56.8+8.39lnx

Power: y=56.8x^0.138

Now that we've got that, we estimate our remaining release scores and get our projections. This is where things got interesting.